Board Members

The Board of Education is comprised of nine citizens who are elected by the public in the November general election. A Board of Education position is a three-year term. Members are elected from each of the constituent districts based on population or appointed by BOE members to fill a vacated seat. Currently, there are two members from Franklin Lakes, three from Oakland and four from Wyckoff. Additional information about the role of a school board member can be found on the NJSBA website by clicking here.


Please be advised that any correspondence sent to members of the BOE may be subject to disclosure under the Open Public Records laws of the State of New Jersey. Contact each board member directly using their email below.  To contact all members of the board please email rihboemembers@rih.org
Filomena LaForgia
Filomena LaForgia
BOE President
BOE Member since 2019
Chairs: 
Community Relations Committee
Committee Assignments: 
Education; Extracurricular
PTSO Liaison
Email: flaforgia@rih.org
Click to View Member Bio
John J. Butto
John J. Butto
BOE Vice President
BOE Member since 2013
Chairs: Finance
Committee Assignments: Policy; Facilities
Community Liaison: Franklin Lakes Council
Email: jbutto@rih.org
Click to View Member Bio
John A. Carolan
John A. Carolan
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Chairs: 
Negotiations/Strategic Committee
Committee Assignments: 
Finance; Personnel/Goals
Community Liaison: Wyckoff Council
Email: jcarolan@rih.org
Click to View Member Bio
Robert Fortunato
Robert Fortunato
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Chairs: Facilities Committee
Committee Assignments: Extra Curriculum; Personnel/Goals
APTS Liaison
Wyckoff BOE K-8 Liaison
Email: rfortunato@rih.org
Click to View Member Bio
John Kinney

John Kinney
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2019

Oversees ALL Committees
Email: jkinney@rih.org

Click to View Member Bio
Helen Koulikourdis
Helen Koulikourdis
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2021

Email: hkoulikourdis@rih.orgClick to View Member Bio
Judith Sullivan
Judith Sullivan
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Chair: 
Extracurricular Committee Chair, Committee on the Hire of an Interim Superintendent
Committee Assignments: Finance; Policy
Community Liaison: Oakland Council
Email: jsullivan@rih.org

Click to View Member Bio