Board Members

The Board of Education is comprised of nine citizens who are elected by the public in the November general election.  Each member serves a three year term.  Representatives are elected from each of the constituent districts based on population.  Currently, there are four representatives from Wyckoff, three from Oakland and two from Franklin Lakes.  Additional information about the role of a school board member can be found on the NJSBA website by clicking here.


Full BOE

Back row (Left to Right): John J. Butto, John A. Carolan, Robert Fortunato, Filomena Laforgia, E. David Becker, Judith Sullivan
Front Row (Left to Right): Natalie Zamitti Shaw, BOE President John Kinney, Superintendent Beverly MacKay, BOE Vice President Teresa Varga Kilday, Business Administrator Frank Ceurvels

Please contact each board member directly using their email below.  To contact all members of the board please email rihboemembers@rih.org


JOHN KINNEY

BOE President
BOE Member since 2019
Term Expires: 2022

Represents:
Wyckoff
Oversees ALL Committees

Email: jkinney@rih.org
Bio in their own words


TERESA VARGA KILDAY

BOE Vice President
BOE Member since 2014
Term Expires
2021
Chairs: Personnel/Goals Committee
Committee Assignments: Facilities; Community Relations
Represents: Oakland
Oakland BOE K-8 Liaison
Email: tkilday@rih.org

Bio in their own words


E. DAVID BECKER

BOE Member
BOE Member: 2014
Term Expires: 2021
Chairs:
Education Committee
Committee Assignments: 
Negotiations/Strategic Planning; Community Relations 
Represents: Wyckoff
Email: edbecker@rih.org
Bio in their own words


JOHN J. BUTTO
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2013
Term Expires: 2022
Chairs: Finance Committee
Committee Assignments: Policy; Facilities
Represents: Franklin Lakes
Community Liaison: Franklin Lakes Council
Email: jbutto@rih.org
Bio in their own words



JOHN A. CAROLAN

BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Term Expires: 2023
Chairs:
Negotiations/Strategic Planning Committee
Committee Assignments:
Finance; Personnel/Goals
Represents:
Wyckoff
Community Liaison: 
Wyckoff Council
Email jcarolan@rih.org
Bio in their own words


ROBERT FORTUNATO
BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Term Expires: 2023
Chairs: 
Facilities Committee
Committee Assignments: 
Extra Curricular; Personnel/Goals
Represents: Wyckoff
APTS Liaison
Wyckoff BOE K-8 Liaison

Email: rfortunato@rih.org
Bio in their own words


FILOMENA LAFORGIA

BOE Member
BOE Member since 2019
Term Expires: 2022
Chairs:
Community Relations Committee
Committee Assignments:
Education; Extracurricular
Represents:
Oakland
PTSO Liaison
Email: flaforgia@rih.org
Bio in their own words


JUDITH SULLIVAN

BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Term Expires 2021
Chairs:
Extracurricular Committee
Committee Assignments:
Finance; Policy
Represents:
Oakland
Community Liaison: Oakland Council
Email: jsullivan@rih.org
Bio in their own words


NATALIE ZAMMITTI SHAW

BOE Member
BOE Member since 2020
Term Expires 2020
Chairs: 
Policy Committee
Committee Assignments: 
Negotiations/Strategic Planning; Education 
Represents:
Franklin Lakes
FLBOE K-8 Liaison 
Email: nzammittishaw@rih.org
Bio in their own words